My New Favorite Movie

I didn’t bike because the weather was bad, I haven’t written because all I have to say is how frustrating I find family time, wah wah wah, blah blah blah.

Let’s talk about more important things.

Oh yes I did. Before we discuss how much I loved it, let me list a few other things I love: movies in which people sing and dance. Cher. Camp, glamor, and the delicate line between them. Not taking things too seriously.

So I loved this movie. They never made me listen to too many sassy one-liners or speeches about the virtue, intelligence, talent and beauty of Christina Aguilera’s character before cutting to the next musical number, and there were feathers, rhinestones, sequins and strings of faux pearls galore. My mother and I were talking about it afterwards and she said, “I don’t want to say it’s better than I expected, because… but…”

And I said, “It was exactly what you expected – just awesomer!”

It was probably Cher. And Stanley Tucci. New life goal: give Stanley Tucci a hug.

And since it made me happy, I’ve been combing the internet for burlesque style inspiration. My love for the form is well-documented, and there are some touches I like to wear a lot – especially sweet, girly feathered hair flowers. But my Official Thanksgiving Etsy Crush is this right here, from olgaitaly.

So pretty. And even named Melissa. Get your ass up and show me how you burlesque!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

